Home Mortgage & Refinancing Serving Locations Throughout New York State
Call us Today: 518-782-1202

USDA Expanded Eligible Lending Areas

As of May 6th, 2014, the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) has expanded some of the lending areas for their 100% financing USDA Rural Development Program. The counties listed below have been re-mapped to include areas that were previously ineligible.

  • Albany
  • Broome
  • Chautauqua
  • Chemung
  • Cortland
  • Dutchess
  • Madison
  • Monroe
  • Niagara
  • Oneida
  • Rensselaer
  • Schenectady
  • Ulster
  • Warren

In addition to these changes, one of the biggest counties that have been impacted with recent expanded areas is Amsterdam, NY. The 2010 census reports the population of Amsterdam, NY (Montgomery County) as being 18,620; and therefore, should be made eligible for Single Family Housing Program Assistance. Montgomery County, effective March 4th, 2014, should be listed as completely eligible and the current ineligible lending area is to be removed (City of Amsterdam).

A note from USDA stated that when tasked with re-mapping the rural areas, ARC GIS software technology was made available to better identify rural breaks between urban and suburban areas. As such, they were able to remove small pockets of existing ineligible areas. The largest expansion of an eligible area was the City if Amsterdam, NY. This opened up, making all of Montgomery County, NY eligible (Justification in NY AN 1216).

For more information regarding how to apply for a USDA Mortgage, please click on Apply for 100% USDA.

Think Mortgage… Think Maple Tree

Posted in Guide to USDA Home Loans on Wednesday, June 4, 2014 by Maple Tree Funding